When My Body Fails… My Encounter with Cancer

On 15 July 2011, out of the blue, out of nowhere, I suddenly realised a lump (2.5×2.5cm) on my right chest, close to my shoulder. It felt hard and rather bony. I sought medical attention immediately. The doctor wasted no time and referred me to National Cancer Centre (NCC).

The consultant at NCC did a needle biopsy on me. The results confirmed that I had 3rd degree breast cancer. More tests were scheduled – CT scan, mammogram, bone scan, breast biopsy and a referral to an oncologist to mete out the most feasible treatment – chemotherapy and surgery.

Friends and colleagues who came to know of my sickness were very concerned. Some offered alternative cancer treatments based on the experience of their friends and relatives. I read about Protocel. I went for a body check using Bio Resonance Therapy at Novena Medical Centre. I was at a loss as to what was best for my body.

I have suffered from 1st degree breast cancer before, way back in Jan 1989. At that time, the SGH surgeon Dr Kee Sue Gee operated on my cancer. It was neat work. I had radiotherapy and recovered very shortly. I continued with follow-up observations by NCC doctors for a few years and then decided to discharge myself.

Now, I am experiencing my 2nd encounter with a fiercer enemy – 3rd degree breast cancer. Friends have urged me to seek a second medical opinion. They “googled” and found my ex-surgeon Dr Kee. He is currently at Kee Surgery Pte Ltd, located at Gleneagles. He found my cancer serious enough to warrant immediate chemotherapy as from 11 Aug 2011.

The first 5 days of my first dose of chemotherapy was dampening. The body was a wretch. I felt weak, nauseous and tired most of the time. Thankfully, the doctor prescribed some anti-vomiting pills and booster jabs (to balance my white blood cells), which helped a little. At least I could, at intervals, spend some time to read my Bible, read newspapers, read Christian literature, sing Psalms, talk to visitors and do a little writing.

But through this experience when the body fails, I realise my great need to be spiritually right with the living God. All of us, whether young or old, sooner or later, will experience the day our body of flesh will fail us. What else do we have in life or death? Is the extinction of the body the end of life?

I thank God that He has given me to know of great and precious promises in His Holy Word, the Bible. They enable me to be a partaker of His divine nature, regardless of my physical condition. (2 Pet 1:4)

“My flesh and my heart faileth; but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever” (Ps 73:26). God sustains me in my spirit and in my soul.

“For they that are after the flesh do mind the things of the flesh; but they that are after the Spirit, the things of the Spirit. For to be carnally minded is death; but to be spiritually minded is life and peace.” (Rom 8:5,6).

The promises of God’s Word come alive in my heart, spirit and soul. Though my body fails me, I am no longer downcast. My body is but a temporary earthly dwelling place of my spirit and soul. Sooner or later, it must give way.

 

Now I rejoice, that I have full assurance in my soul that…

1) The true and living God is the everlasting and eternal God. He is the great God, Almighty. In Him is Truth, Righteousness and Holiness.

2) This world of humanity has fallen into death – God’s just judgement against our sin of hatred against Him. No man is spared. Every one of us are totally depraved creatures of sin.

3) Thank God that out of His grace, mercy and love, He will save a people to Himself. He will redeem a people from destruction. He will restore them to everlasting fellowship with Himself.

4) God Himself came into the flesh of our Lord Jesus Christ. He died on the cross to bear the wrath of God against our grievous sin.

5) He has called me to repentance and faith in Him. The gospel is the power of God unto salvation.

6) In Christ, we have:

a. The forgiveness of our sins.

b. The right to become God’s children, the citizens of heaven.

c. The privilege to walk through our earthly life, led by His Word and by His Spirit. d. His constant care, love and grace over us.

d. The hope of eternal glory.

7) Christ Jesus is my Wisdom, Righteousness, Sanctification and Redemption (1 Cor 1:30).

Now I fear no evil upon my body.

I want to learn to face this enemy of my body, CANCER, by the power of His Word and His Spirit. I want to experience the joy of His salvation. I want to share that “God’s grace is sufficient for me; for my strength is made perfect in weakness” (2 Cor 12:9). I glory in the God of my salvation.

Written by: Daisy Lim | Issue 10

