24th Church Anniversary Thanksgiving

Time flies. Most of my memories of my life in church as a little kid have long since faded away over the years. Yep! I was born and raised in my church (CERC) and I am very grateful for that. (‘Born’ as in I attended church since I was a baby, definitely not ‘coming out of my mother’s womb’) As such, I have the privilege of receiving the benefits of my spiritual mother, CERC, when I was young. I am very thankful to God for the faithful preaching of God’s word every Sunday throughout our church history. We are all constantly being nourished and strengthened in our faith by this means of grace in which we all need and in which God commands. 2 Timothy 4:2 says “Preach the word; be instant in season, out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort with all long suffering and doctrine.” And in Hebrews 4:12, we find, “For the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.” The word of God is powerful. It pierces into our hearts.

Although I cannot recall much of the time when I was a child as my brain was still undergoing serious development, some memories are hard to forget, no matter how much you want to, especially embarrassing moments. At that time, during my childhood days, our church was located at Tessensohn Road. I remember once, after a birthday celebration, we were asked to pass down cut-up pieces of cake. I spotted a huge strawberry in a slice of cake and could not resist a few nibbles. Feeling timid and not knowing what to do next after an adult told me to pass it down, I followed and passed it down. Suddenly, a girl cried out, “How come there are so many marks on my strawberry!” I kept quiet, but my face turned red.

I guess, without realizing it then, this embarrassing moment has become a pleasant memory where I laugh and think to myself: I could have done better. In a way, God was teaching me a little lesson about greed, bravery, and honesty.

We can all see God’s guiding hand at some points in our lives, and feel God’s presence in one way or another. Especially so in CERC, where we worship God, adore Him, sing praises to Him and where He alone is glorified. I am thankful to God for our pastors, elders, deacons and Sunday school teachers who look after God’s people, both spiritually and physically, and ensure that the sound doctrine of God’s Word, which is our reformed faith, is carefully and boldly taught. One example is the comforting truth of God’s Sovereignty, where God is in absolute control over all things and that everything will work together for our good even though we may not understand why we must go through a certain pain or difficulty. Matthew 10:29-30 says, “Are not two sparrows sold for a farthing? And one of them shall not fall on the ground without your Father. But the very hairs of your head are all numbered.” And in the well known verse, Romans 8:28, we read, “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.”

I am also thankful for everyone in the church – visitors, members, children and friends alike. I am thankful for their love   towards   one   another   in   Christ, their prayers for one another and their forgiving of one another. I am thankful for their zeal in serving God in CERC and in the various ministries. It is because of God’s sovereign love and grace for us that we are able to do all these and more.

Written by: Marcus Boon | Issue 10

