God’s Peculiar People and Public Schooling

I have always been in a Christian school, a Methodist one, except when I was in Kindergarten 2. However, I find no difference between my current secondary school and the other non-christian schools when I came to know of how the Protestant Reformed Schools are like. In this article, I would be sharing my experiences and the bene ts and challenges in my school life.

Like any other student in Singapore, school life is very hectic. Teachers always rush through the curriculum and thus we need to try and keep up. There is also a lot of competition in school, especially with regards to grades. Secondary School revolves around getting good grades that will get you into a good Junior College in the future. This sometimes makes me lose focus of my calling in life as a pilgrim in this world. Many times I have wanted to quit school due to the stress but I am thankful to God who always reminds me of my calling as a student. Proverbs 10:4 says ‘He becometh poor that dealeth with a slack hand: but the hand of the diligent maketh rich’. This verse always encourages me to work hard and be diligent because God has called me to be a student and to work for His glory alone.

Being in this world, we are all mixed with the ungodly. Many schoolmates and even teachers use vulgarities and swear and curse loosely. Whenever they do that, it makes me feel uncomfortable. Many of their conversations turn me off too. Recently, everyone is into Korean pop and movies. I always get a very hostile feeling from schoolmates whenever I tell them not to indulge in those things. I believe these situations are tests of my faith. When Paul said “For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to everyone that believeth; to the Jews first, and also to the Greek”, it presses me on to stand firm in God’s law.

I have many Christian friends, but they are mostly Methodist and Pentecostals. We usually share our beliefs, especially during morning devotions in assembly and chapel. I find that the Scripture is often interpreted very shallowly and wrongly and the services I have in school are just like a concert where a band comes in and the pastor tells life-stories or fictional stories. We often argue on the doctrine of TULIP and how a proper service should be like. Though I keep explaining to them, they still do not understand. They nd the reformed faith “too holy”, traditional and weird. But I believe that it is not my work to transform them but God’s, for it is said in Ephesians 2:8 “For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourself: it is the gift of God.” It is not the work of men which gives salvation, but the work of God.

As a result of school work, co-curricular activities and other activities, it is a struggle for me to do devotions. The nights are usually filled with homework to complete which results in less time for sleep. It is a challenge for me to wake up early in the morning to do devotions; but by God’s grace, it is slowly becoming a habit. I have to learn how to prioritize my activities so that I would have time for devotions, both day and night. Psalm 1:2 keeps me going as it says “But his delight is in the law of the LORD; and in his law doth he meditate day and night.’

Joshua 1:9 “Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of good courage: but not afraid, neither be thou dismayed for the Lord thy God is with thee withersoever thou goest’. Jer 33:3 “Call unto me, and I will answer thee, and show thee great and mighty things, which thou knowest not.” These verses tell us that no matter which school we may be in, or where we are, we are to walk in fellowship with God and be equipped to serve Him fully. God puts us in different circumstances, whether it is in a public or home school, for His own purpose. He has the best plan for us to serve Him in our calling. May the LORD lead and guide you wherever you may go. Let us always remember to pray without ceasing and be faithful to our calling on this journey (Psalm 1, Philippians 4:6-8)

Written by: Noelene Wong | Issue 5

