Homeschooling

From the age of two, I went to school like most Singaporean kids, completed PSLE and started secondary school. While in primary school we had contemplated homeschooling but did not take it up because my father objected, concerned about my future. About four months into secondary school my mum started reading up about homeschooling again. My family prayed about it, and with my dad’s approval I began homeschooling in April 2008.

So why did I/we decide to homeschool? My parents wanted to properly obey God’s command in Deuteronomy 6:7, which says “And thou shalt teach them diligently unto thy children, and shalt talk of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, and when thou liest down, and when thou risest up.” It is almost impossible for parents to bring up their children in the Lord when they are in school for almost the whole day and have tons of homework to complete when they get home. Furthermore, God calls covenant parents, not the government, to train up their children in His ways so that they will not depart from it (Prov 22:6). Homeschooling also allows us to choose a Christian curriculum, which will ground me more firmly in the faith, keeping me close to God and enabling me to be a better witness for Him. Money is not a problem because you do not have to choose an expensive curriculum.

A typical day of mine starts with personal devotions, breakfast, and then devotions with my mum and brother. After chores I’ll start my lessons, with breaks in between for lunch and rest. A big challenge I face is discipline. It’s tough at times to focus on my lessons and complete all my assignments on time. Also, there is the temptation to cheat as I have all the answer keys on hand.

Many think homeschoolers don’t have a social life, but that’s not true. The Singapore Homeschooling Group is very active and regularly organizes activities and outings where homeschoolers get to meet and socialize. In fact, if I attended all the activities organized, I wouldn’t have any time for my schoolwork.

I’ve enjoyed homeschooling very much and have never regretted it. I really hope the number of homeschoolers in our church grows!

Written by: Joanna Tang | Issue 3

